Show All Answers
Residents and other interested parties may check the zoning on a particular piece of property by checking the Village's Zoning Map.
In 2008 Lemont consolidated its zoning and subdivision ordinances into the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO). The UDO includes all zoning standards, including those for signs.
For more information, please see the Illinois State Police website.www.isp.state.il.us/
If you are involved in a motor vehicle crash, Illinois law requires you to do the following things:• You must stop at the scene of the accident. (Preferably, either leave the vehicle where it is, or move it to a place that is safe and well-lighted.)• If you can exit your car safely, scan the scene to make sure no one is injured.• If anyone is injured, help them if necessary and able.• After surveying the scene, you should protect the injured person from traffic.• Call 911 immediately and do NOT move the person.• You are required to give immediate notice of an accident to law enforcement. 625 ILCS 5/11-407. If no police officer is present, you must give notice of the accident by the fastest available means of communication to the local police department or nearest headquarters of the Illinois State Police.• If the accident involves property damage without injury or death, you MUST provide information to the other driver(s). If you fail to give information or give false information or fail to render aid, you could be prosecuted for a Class A misdemeanor violation of 625 ILCS 5/11-403, punishable up to 1 year in jail and/or a $2500 fine in addition to probation for up to 24 months.• If you strike a parked or unattended vehicle, the law requires you to immediately stop and attempt to locate and notify the operator or owner of the vehicle. If you cannot identify them, you must securely attach in a conspicuous place on or in the vehicle you struck written notice giving the your name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle you were driving (if you do not own the vehicle you were driving), and, without unnecessary delay, notify the nearest police department to make a written report of the accident. (625 ILCS 5/11-404).• You have a DUTY to report the accident if the accident involves property damage in excess of $1500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is not covered by a lawful insurance plan) or if the accident results in any injury or death of any person. 625 ILCS 5/11-406• Legally, you have 10 days after the accident to report it to the Illinois Secretary of State. This is the orange and white form you are given by the police officer. This form is mainly used for administration purposes and is not used as evidence against you if you are subsequently prosecuted.• If you fail to report the accident and you are convicted of a violation of 625 ILCS 5/11-406, the Secretary of State shall suspend your driving privileges. 625 ILCS 5/11-406(e).• If you provide a false motor vehicle accident report, whether oral or written, with knowledge or reason to believe that such information is false, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, punishable up to 30 days in jail and/or $1500 fine in addition to 24 months probation. 625 ILCS 5/11-409.
(625 ILCS 5/11-402) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-402) Sec. 11-402. Motor vehicle accident involving damage to vehicle. (a) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such motor vehicle accident or as close thereto as possible, but shall forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the scene of such motor vehicle accident until the requirements of Section 11-403 have been fulfilled. A driver does not violate this Section if the driver moves the vehicle as soon as possible off the highway to the nearest safe location on an exit ramp shoulder, a frontage road, the nearest suitable cross street, or other suitable location that does not obstruct traffic and remains at that location until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of Section 11-403. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes. Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.(625 ILCS 5/11-403) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-403) Sec. 11-403. Duty to give information and render aid. The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in injury to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall give the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver is operating and shall upon request and if available exhibit such driver's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with and shall render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying or the making of arrangements for the carrying of such person to a physician, surgeon or hospital for medical or surgical treatment, if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person. If none of the persons entitled to information pursuant to this Section is in condition to receive and understand such information and no police officer is present, such driver after rendering reasonable assistance shall forthwith report such motor vehicle accident at the nearest office of a duly authorized police authority, disclosing the information required by this Section. Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. (Source: P.A. 83-831.)
(625 ILCS 5/11-404) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-404) Sec. 11-404. Duty upon damaging unattended vehicle or other property. (a) The driver of any vehicle which collides with or is involved in a motor vehicle accident with any vehicle which is unattended, or other property, resulting in any damage to such other vehicle or property shall immediately stop and shall then and there either locate and notify the operator or owner of such vehicle or other property of the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver was operating or shall attach securely in a conspicuous place on or in the vehicle or other property struck a written notice giving the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the vehicle the driver was driving and shall without unnecessary delay notify the nearest office of a duly authorized police authority and shall make a written report of such accident when and as required in Section 11-406. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes. (b) Any person failing to comply with this Section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. (c) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds (i) a vehicle standing upon a highway or toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking imposed under this Code or (ii) a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway, the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted, or to public parking or storage premises. The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of, the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate procedures, as provided in Section 4-203 of this Code. (d) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under subsection (c), as provided in subsection (b) of Section 4-213. (Source: P.A. 95-407, eff. 1-1-08.)
(625 ILCS 5/11-406) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-406) Sec. 11-406. Duty to report accident. (a) The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner involved in an accident within this State, resulting in injury to or death of any person, or in which damage to the property of any one person, including himself, in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of the accident to the Administrator. (b) Whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in this State, caused by a collision, a sudden stop or otherwise, resulting in any property damage, personal injury or death and whenever an accident occurs within 50 feet of a school bus in this State resulting in personal injury to or the death of any person while awaiting or preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the driver shall as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report to the Department of Transportation. If a report is also required under Subsection (a) of this Section, that report and the report required by this Subsection shall be submitted on a single form. (c) The Administrator may require any driver, occupant or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident of which report must be made as provided in this Section or Section 11-410 of this Chapter to file supplemental reports whenever the original report is insufficient in the opinion of the Secretary of State or the Administrator, and may require witnesses of the accident to submit written reports to the Administrator. The report may include photographs, charts, sketches, and graphs. (d) Should the Administrator learn through other reports of accidents required by law of the occurrence of an accident reportable under this Article and the driver, owner, or witness has not reported as required under Subsections (a), (b) or (c) of this Section or Section 11-410, within the time specified, the person is not relieved of the responsibility and the Administrator shall notify the person by first class mail directed to his last known address of his legal obligation. However, the notification is not a condition precedent to impose the penalty for failure to report as provided in Subsection (e). (e) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any non-resident's driving privilege of any person who fails or neglects to make report of a traffic accident as required or as required by any other law of this State. (Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)
(625 ILCS 5/11-409) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-409) Sec. 11-409. False motor vehicle accident reports or notices. Any person who provides information in an oral or written report required by this Code with knowledge or reason to believe that such information is false shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. (Source: P.A. 83-831.)
(625 ILCS 5/11-407) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-407) Sec. 11-407. Immediate notice of accident. (a) The driver of a vehicle which is in any manner involved in an accident described in Section 11-406 of this Chapter shall, if no police officer is present, give notice of the accident by the fastest available means of communication to the local police department if such accident occurs within a municipality or otherwise to the nearest office of the county sheriff or nearest headquarters of the Illinois State Police. (b) Whenever the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of giving immediate notice of an accident as required in Subsection (a) and there was another occupant in the vehicle at the time of the accident capable of doing so, that occupant must give notice as required in Subsection (a). (Source: P.A. 76-2163.)
For more information, please see the Cyberdriveillinois.com.